2e Tuesday: Still waters run deep

When you have one child who is an in-your-face personality and one who is laid back, you tend to…well….the squeaky wheel gets the grease. We’ve known for some time that A is very likely twice-exceptional, and his “challenge” is an alphabet soup mishmash of dignoses. The jury has been out on J.

Until tonight.

He and A and I were enjoying a nice dinner, and J had just finished his yogurt (Yoplait). And he got this “this means something” gleam in his eye.

J: Mom, do you know what shape this is?

Me (and A): It’s an oval.

J: No…it’s…

Me (and A): Um, pretty sure that’s an oval.

J: NO! It’s…it’s an ellipsoid!

Time stopped. Um…okay. My four year old with a speech delay just said “ellipsoid.” My four year old knows what an ellipsoid is. I had to go look it up in the dictionary and my God, he was closer to right than wrong. They’re studying shapes in preschool right now and apparently this is another WOWZA class, like A’s was, ’cause uh, ellipsoid? J is now calling that particular brand of yogurt “ellipsoid yogurt,” which will garner even more odd looks at the grocery store than we get now.

My doubts about him are over. Still waters run deep in that one, young grasshopper. He may be less 2e than his brother (thankyousweetbabyJesus), but I’m pretty damned sure the gifted part is there.

And then the squeaky wheel went on a “lose-his-shit-apalooza” for 30 minutes because J got the last green popsicle and life was back to (bwahahahahaha) normal.

**************************************************

More 2e Tuesday over at Child’s Play.

6 Responses

  1. […] another look at 2e? Check out “Still Waters Run Deep” over at Never a Dull […]

  2. Sometimes they can really blow you away, can’t they…

    And “lose-his-shit-apalooza” – I am so stealing this.

  3. “ellipsoid”? I don’t know that I have ever seen that word before in my life. I kind of figured out what it meant from its pieces, but holy cow. You’ve got a live one there! And many years of adventure ahead!

  4. Hey, Jen, I’m Jen too! I’m another one of the hopeful parents writers, and had to write to you b/c we have so much in common. Your boys sound SO much like mine, and I’m a band director too (used to do middle sch. before kids). Scary, huh? I love your blog, looking forward to getting to know you better. 🙂

  5. […] to me Jen on 2e Tuesday: Still waters run…Dawn on MDI on 2e Tuesday: Still waters run…Robin on 2e Tuesday: Still waters run…2e […]

  6. I love it when children remember what they learn. It does my heart good. That is so cool. You’ve got a smart kid, and one who listens to what his teacher had to say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

